How Much Can I Receive for My Florida Workers’ Comp Claim?
Accidents happen even when you are at work. Sometimes these accidents result in injury and cause you to be unable to perform your job duties. The Florida workers’ comp program was created to protect injured workers and help them through this difficult time, so they don’t have to suffer.
Does Workers’ Comp in Florida Cover Medical Expenses?
With the workers’ comp program in Florida, you will have your medical bills covered to treat your workplace injuries. The medical coverage provided by the program can help you cover your expenses when hurt on the job. These medical benefits cover a range of treatments that you would need to care for your injuries and ensure you can return to work.
Medical coverage for workplace injuries includes all necessary and required medical care that you might need. This can range from doctor visits and follow-up appointments to hospital stays for more extensive injuries. In addition you also receive coverage for any prescriptions needed to treat your injuries, physical therapy needed to maintain mobility, or a prosthesis if you have lost a limb because of a workplace accident.
You can rest assured that your medical treatments will be covered under the Florida workers’ comp program as long as you follow the requirements and the law governing this program. Under the law for workers’ compensation, you need to see a company-approved doctor. This means that only doctors that your employer and their insurance provider have approved are acceptable to provide you treatment.
You may be tempted to see a preferred doctor or one that you have known for a long time. This can be detrimental to your workers’ comp claim as your employer is not required to pay for the care by an unapproved doctor. You would ultimately be responsible for paying for the expenses you incurred with an unapproved doctor and have to pay these expenses out of your pocket.
Does Workers’ Comp in Florida Cover Lost Wages?
Often times when injured at work, you can no longer perform your regular job responsibilities. You need time away
from work to recover from your injuries, and under workers’ comp in Florida, you will be paid a portion of your wages during your absence. The Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation determines the payment schedule and amount for each injury sustained because of a workplace accident.
According to the Florida workers’ comp program, you can be paid up to 66 2/3 percent of your current weekly earnings for a disability or injury that is long-lasting, but temporary. These benefits are payable for up to six months as determined by the Division of Workers’ Compensation. You are eligible to collect these benefits after the seventh day of missed work because of recovery from your injuries. If you miss a total of 21 days of work, your payment starts from the first day of your absence. If your injuries result in less than 21 days of lost wages, you will be paid a percentage of your wages after seven days.
Other types of injuries can be covered under workers’ comp in Florida, as well. A temporary partial disability can also receive coverage and you can be compensated for up to 80 percent of your income. These benefits supplement your current earnings when working in a diminished capacity at a lower wage. This light-duty role allows you to work with your injury while still earning at the higher level your previous position paid.
All injuries that are a permanent disability are covered under workers’ comp in Florida as determined by the Bureau of Monitoring and Audit. This department will develop a payment schedule based on the severity of your injury and the extent it will affect you long term. These benefits can be paid for a total of 104 weeks as determined by the Bureau of Monitoring and Audit.
Does Workers’ Comp in Florida Include Death Benefits?
The worst-case scenario of being hurt on the job is if your injuries result in death. Not only is this a devastating loss to your family, but they can be financially hurt by not having your income to rely on to pay the bills. The Florida workers’ compensation program provides benefits to surviving family members and dependents upon the loss of a loved one from a workplace accident.
Upon your death, your family is eligible to receive up to $150,000 in death benefits from workers’ comp. This is in addition to coverage of your funeral costs up to $7500. While these benefits are no substitute for the loss of a family member, they can financially help your family get through this trying time and make sure they do not have to worry about additional expenses from your death.
Is There a Deadline to Apply for Workers’ Comp Benefits?
Filing a workers’ comp claim in Florida is time sensitive. You have only 30 days to notify your employer that you have been injured on the job and need to file a claim. For this reason, it is important that you report your injuries to your employer as soon as they occur. Once your employer receives notification about your injuries and that you want to file a workers’ comp claim, you will have up to two years from the date of the accident to file for your benefits.
Consult with a Florida Workers’ Comp Attorney Today
Because the process for filing a workers’ comp claim can be complex, you may want to seek the guidance of a workers’ comp attorney in Florida to help you with your case. This can help you avoid a denial of your claim and make sure you get the maximum compensation you are entitled to for your injuries.
When hurt on the job because of a workplace accident, you need a workers’ comp lawyer you can trust. Count on the attorneys at John Fagan Accident Lawyers to help you understand what your legal rights are under the law for a workers’ comp claim. They can advise you on how to file a claim and help with denied workers’ comp claims. Contact us today for a consultation!